Sharing the Strength

Learning about life through the lens of cancer

A Broader Lens

on June 17, 2014

When I first started my blog, I envisioned a place where other people who had been diagnosed with the same rare cancer I was, soft tissue sarcoma, could come and discuss their experiences.  Somewhere along the way, however, it grew into something else.  Instead of focusing on sarcoma, my little blog began to quickly evolve into a series of musings about life, and even though these thoughts were written through the lens of cancer, I found out that they were finding their way into people’s lives who didn’t have cancer – and they still held meaning.

I have deeply appreciated the readership support of my family and friends and am humbled by their kind responses to the blog: “I have been deeply moved by all your writing,” “Wonderful words of strength, courage, encouragement,” “We all have or will have similar challenges and it is helpful and inspiring to know that we are not, and will never be, alone.”  To say I’m touched would be an understatement.  I feel blessed that God has given me words to share that mean something to others and feel certain that this is part of a path I’m supposed to be on right now.

So today I’ve changed the tagline of my blog from “A Gathering Place for Those with Soft Tissue Sarcoma and Other Cancers” to “Learning About Life Through the Lens of Cancer.”  However, my original hopes for the blog remain the same as stated in the welcome message: “to have this little portion of cyberspace offer you calmness during uncertainty, light when it seems the darkest, and strength when you feel you have none left.  Sharing the strength, we can all get through.”  Thank you for all your continued encouragement, support and inspiration.

Share the strength.


Leave a comment