Sharing the Strength

Learning about life through the lens of cancer

I Have a Lot of Clarences

on April 1, 2015

Since announcing the return of my cancer, I have felt a bit like George Bailey in “It’s a Wonderful Life.” The outpouring of concern, support, and prayers has been overwhelming!

“It’s a Wonderful Life” opens with numerous voices praying to God on George’s behalf. George, you see, is in trouble. His uncle has misplaced an important bank deposit, an error that will surely lead to George’s family business, the Bailey Building and Loan, going bankrupt. The sinister Mr. Potter, who controls much of the town and who for years has wanted to close the Building and Loan, finds the money, keeps it, and seizes the opportunity to issue a warrant for bank fraud against George. While George ponders suicide, the voices lifting him up to the Heavens reach God’s ear, who, in response, sends Clarence, a guardian angel, to show him the difference he has made in others’ lives and all the reasons for which he still has to live. Ultimately, Mr. Potter’s devious attempt is foiled.

Cancer is my Mr. Potter – evil, conniving, controlling. The character was No. 6 on the American Film Institute’s list of the 50 Greatest Villains in the history of American cinema. A 2007 article in the Nashua Telegraph about the death of Lionel Barrymore, who portrayed Mr. Potter, described the character as “Scrooge, the Grinch and Simon Legree in one craggy, crabby package.” Yep, that’s my cancer.

And just like George Bailey’s friends prayed for him when he was being attacked by Mr. Potter, I know I have hundreds of voices praying for me right now. Although my faith was shaken when I heard my cancer was back, I do know that God hears prayers and I believe in the power of prayer. I’m hoping that when He hears so many voices, He will choose to work a miracle. I know He has already sent me many Clarences. Some I know and some I don’t. I’m not sure I’m worthy of the beautiful, warm comments I have gotten from so many people telling me what I have meant to them. I’m grateful and humbled if I’ve been able to make a difference in their lives. In fact, it’s one of the main things that has gotten me through the past couple weeks. It is comforting to know that, when facing a terminal illness, a life has been well spent. Hearing that is a blessing that not everybody gets to have. All too often, we wait until after people are gone to acknowledge the role they played in our lives.

I hope that I will ultimately have much more time than the doctors say because, as is the case with everyone, there’s still much I want to do. In the meantime, however, I appreciate the support, encouragement, strength, and love being sent my way and the prayers lifting me up. Thanks to each and every one of you!

“Remember, George: No man is a failure who has friends” – “Clarence”

Share the strength.


2 responses to “I Have a Lot of Clarences

  1. kathleen markham says:

    Dear Annie, You are an incredibly creative and talented writer but much more than that… a wonderful spirited soul that I feel privileged to know and blessed to have you right next door!!!   Love, KateP.S. hope you don’t cringe too much over my grammar and run on sentences

    From: Sharing the Strength To: chiefkathleen@yahoo.com Sent: Wednesday, April 1, 2015 8:17 PM Subject: [New post] I Have a Lot of Clarences #yiv7315255469 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv7315255469 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv7315255469 a.yiv7315255469primaryactionlink:link, #yiv7315255469 a.yiv7315255469primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv7315255469 a.yiv7315255469primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv7315255469 a.yiv7315255469primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv7315255469 WordPress.com | theofframp posted: “Since announcing the return of my cancer, I have felt a bit like George Bailey in “It’s a Wonderful Life.” The outpouring of concern, support, and prayers has been overwhelming!”It’s a Wonderful Life” opens with numerous voices praying to God on Georg” | |

    • theofframp says:

      Thank you, as always, for your kind comments about the blog and, most of all, to being the best neighbor anyone could ask for!

Leave a comment