Sharing the Strength

Learning about life through the lens of cancer

A Soldier’s Helmet

on February 28, 2017

This post is going out to a lovely lady I met at Roswell over the weekend who is in distress over losing her hair. A first-time cancer patient, she just began chemotherapy and is starting to see the results it will have on her head. It sounds like the idea of completely losing her hair is a very traumatic one. I handed her husband this URL and hope she comes to “visit.”

While I certainly can’t speak for all cancer patients, I can offer my own opinion of facing this challenge. For women, especially, hair is so personal; we use it to help identify who we are. Hopefully, the following information will help allay some fears, or at least present some different ways to view the situation (I actually enjoyed my hairless journey!).

Coping with Hair Loss (in no particular order)

  • You’ll save lots of money because you won’t be going for regular appointments at your salon. I saved about $600! Use the savings to do something special for yourself.
  • Consider getting a buzz cut before your hair starts falling out, or at least cut it to less than an inch. We have so little control when we’re fighting cancer; however, this is something over which we can take command. It’s also less intimidating to see small strands on your bathroom rather than clumps of long ones when your hair starts falling out. My long-time hair stylist shaved my head and it was a very touching moment for the two of us.
  • Don’t forget you will be losing more than the hair on the top of your head. You will lose ALL your hair. YAY – no more shaving!
  • A visit to what I call the “Chemo Salon” will most likely render you with completely different hair when it comes back in. Even if you love your hair the way it is, now you can see yourself in a different way without going to the hair stylist! My chestnut, auburn-streaked, fine, straight hair came in black, thick and curly. As a bonus, I got a “skunk stripe.” People pay good money for that! I’ve had three hair colors and different styles since I started visiting the “Chemo Salon.” A visit is like a box of chocolates – you never know what you’re going to get.
  • Bring out your inner child and play dress up with wigs and scarves. Personally, I loved the Bohemian look of the scarves and never wore a wig.
  • Rock it! Put on makeup and get some bold earrings. Bald IS beautiful!
  • Although I said these were in no particular order, I do think this one is most important. You are in a fight for your life. You are a cancer warrior. Think of your baldness as a soldier’s helmet and wear it proudly.

I would love to hear other coping mechanisms from my readers out there, so please leave a comment to add to the list. And to my new acquaintance, I hope this will offer you some solace.

Share the Strength.


One response to “A Soldier’s Helmet

  1. Kate says:

    Hair Inspiration! A small miracle occurred after reading your latest posting of Soldier’s Helmet. I asked Bear to honor my birthday request of getting rid of his 20 year old comb over. He was quite defensive and anxious about the very thought of it. Well, yesterday after returning home from my yoga class,to my surprise, Bear had cut his hair. He looks 10 years younger. What freedom to not have to paste that hair across the scalp. He is a free bird now and I am a happy chick.

    *** please know by no means is this comparable to the volume of your courageous story. I just wanted to share and hope you get a hearty chuckle out of it.

Leave a comment