Sharing the Strength

Learning about life through the lens of cancer

Rise!

on April 17, 2017

I don’t usually like two post two days in a row (I don’t want you to get too bored!); however, that’s the way the calendar falls. Happy Easter, everyone!

I suppose if you have to hear news like I heard earlier this week, Holy Week is a good time to hear it. The meaning behind this week is the reason I have not thought that much about death itself since my cancer diagnosis, because my faith tells me that it is death of the body only. Don’t get me wrong – I’m certainly not looking forward to leaving this early. I had hoped to enjoy another 20 years with  my children and grandchildren, sit by the lake, teach (well, maybe, not the full 20!), and perhaps get into a “little” more trouble. However, that was MY plan, and now I have to acknowledge that I am not the planner – God is.

What I HAVE feared is dying – quite a different thing from death. In addition to a worsening physical condition, I have a sense of urgency, from feeling guilty about never writing last year’s thank you notes to wanting to clean the closets, and there’s so much I want to say, the hardest of those being the “see you laters.” During my cancer journey, and especially during the last week, so many of you have commented on my courage and bravery, and I can’t thank you enough for such kind words and for that support; however, in reality, YOU are the ones holding ME up.

I am human and get sad. I do find comfort, though, that Jesus was human and sad, too. In the Garden of Gethsemane, he suffered thinking about his fate and prayed three times for God to “pass the cup” – to let him live. He also acknowledged that it be God’s will, not His. Because of His courage, bravery, and love, we have been blessed with the resurrection, which we celebrate today. We are ALL able to rise!

Share the strength.


6 responses to “Rise!

  1. Kate says:

    Annie, Very beautifully written. I would like to share Easter Sunday’s Daily Word with you: The Christ Spirit is alive in me. As eternal spiritual beings, we know that death has no more reality for us than it did for Jesus. It is merely a doorway through which we pass to continue our spiritual journeys elsewhere in the Allness that is God. In truth, we have all surrendered to crucifixion-like challenges. We have found ourselves lifted to a new and higher dimension of spiritual awareness and expression. Today we celebrate the great Resurrection demonstration with which Jesus concluded his earthly ministry. In doing so, we honor our own resurrection experiences. We are grateful for each one, for they provide us with the opportunity to embrace new possibilities. FOR AS BY A MAN CAME DEATH, BY A MAN HAS COME ALSO THE RESURRECTION OF THE DEAD. FOR AS IN ADAM ALL DIE, SO ALSO IN CHRIST SHALL ALL BE MADE ALIVE. -1 Corinthians 15:21,22

  2. Julia Linne says:

    Makes me sad though because I’m alive. We all have to accept his will or should accept his will. So many today don’t finish God’s journey. Strength is what we need like you have shown. Love u cousin!

  3. Lisa Hendrick says:

    Ann, I will share the strength as you have. You have given us a wonderful gift with all your writings of your journey. Thank you, too, for sharing about God’s love and the resurrection of Jesus and the ability for us all to rise.

  4. Sherry Aylward says:

    I just LOVE YOU.

  5. Cheryl Gregory says:

    You have more strength than anyone I know. I hope that you are not in pain and just wish I would have known you better. From all your blogs I feel like I know you and have know you for a lifetime. Be at peace with the wonderful life you have lived. You have nothing to feel guilty about.

    1000’s of Brides every year never write their Tank Yous. You are in good company on that one.

Leave a comment