Sharing the Strength

Learning about life through the lens of cancer

Turn, Turn, Turn

on July 29, 2014

Transitions can be long or short, big or small, simple or complex. They can also be sudden or expected.  I’ve gone through a few transitions since my cancer diagnosis, all of which caught me off guard.

The first was when I finished my radiation treatments.  During my last treatment, tears started rolling down my cheeks and I couldn’t figure out why.  I had been so excited that I no longer had to travel the 100-mile daily trip to the hospital.  When I asked my doctor about it, she said it was completely normal.  Coming to the hospital each day for 25 days had become my routine and now it was ending.  I’m sure that fear of what was next played a big part, too.  I sailed through radiation – that was the “easy” part of my treatment plan.  Now I had to face a six-hour surgery and five weeks of recovery, not knowing what my leg would look like or how it would function afterwards.

The next transition was when I came home from surgery.  Another hurdle had been jumped, but the race wasn’t over.  Now that surgery was out of the way, I had to face the hardest part of my treatment – chemotherapy.  The latest transition came when I ended chemotherapy.  In my last post, I talked about having to make a decision about whether to pursue a fifth treatment; I decided not to.  Ending chemo was a difficult transition because it was completely against my nature not to fight as hard as I could; however, my head won this battle over my heart.  The benefits of continuing just didn’t outweigh the risks.  In addition to being a hard decision to accept, once again, fear of the unknown crept its way into my mind.  After eight months of treatments, all of a sudden I didn’t have to be to any kind of medical appointment for a couple weeks.  What would come next?

Fortunately, the uneasiness I felt from all of these transitions lasted only a few days.  Transitions, in their many shapes and sizes, may not be easy; however, your mental approach to them can play a role in how smoothly they go.  For example, my father recently decided to sell the contents of the home he had been in for nearly 65 years.  That’s a big transition.  Yet, when he sat down outside to watch the auction begin last week, he looked around at all the items that filled an entire driveway, backyard, and front lawn and simply said, “Look at all this junk!”  He has always thought positively about every situation and this thinking helped him make the transition and move forward.

I love road trips, so I’ve often thought of life as a road map.  It is not a direct route from beginning to end.  There are interstates on which you can travel full speed and back roads that require you to slow down in order to take the twists and turns.  Then there are the detours.  Just recently, I was traveling through Chicago and had to make two detours – not planned, but there all the same.  Those detours – those transitions – are all part of the path we’re on.  We don’t always understand why we hit them; perhaps it’s to protect us – in Chicago, for example, a bridge was out – or maybe there is construction ahead that will eventually make our life better.  That’s why it’s important to continue to move forward when we experience a transition.  God designed us that way.  Our feet face forward, not backward.  Our eyes are on our face, not on the back of our heads.  Isiah 43: 18-19 proclaims: “Forget the former things;   do not dwell on the past.  See, I am doing a new thing!  Now it springs up; do you not perceive it?  I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.”  Indeed, transitions can bring wonderful new opportunities for us.  We’ll miss them if we’re looking at life in the rearview mirror as we’re driving down the road that is our life.

“To every thing there is a season, and a time to purpose under the heaven” — Ecclesiateses 3:17

Share the strength.


4 responses to “Turn, Turn, Turn

  1. Kate says:

    The only words I can muster up are THANK YOU!

    • theofframp says:

      You’re welcome, Kate — I’m happy the post spoke to you. Thank YOU for continuing to read and support me in all the ways you do!

  2. sugarlows says:

    This is perfect! I feel like I I can relate by moving so suddenly to a whole new state and starting my job.

Leave a comment