Sharing the Strength

Learning about life through the lens of cancer

Carpe Diem

on September 12, 2015

I was shocked when I realized that my last post was in May – nearly four months ago! However, I have a good reason. I was busy seizing the day.

Earlier this summer, I spent time at my sister’s cabin in the beautiful West Virginia mountains, not far from where I was raised. Because of the rural location, there’s no Internet connection or cell phone service. I won’t lie – the first couple days were hard as I went through a serious case of electronics withdrawal. Then a funny thing happened. I started paying more attention to my surroundings – the gentle crackling sound of small animals running through the woods, the rustling of leaves as breezes wafted through the trees, the chirping of birds and the music of cicadas. I started to enjoy not having a laptop and cell phone as body appendages. It was a feeling I would keep all summer long.

Here are some examples of what I was doing while I was “off the grid”:

  • Enjoying visits from hummingbirds
  • Rediscovering how much I enjoy jigsaw puzzles
  • Sitting on the beach with lifelong friends with our toes in the water
  • Playing on the floor with my grandson
  • Napping to the sound of waves hitting the shore
  • Eating brunch on the patio
  • Traveling a favorite portion of Route 66 – not once, not twice, but four times
  • Sharing laughter and tears with my children
  • Staring in awe at beautiful, multicolored sunsets
  • Driving on back roads with the windows down singing “Bohemian Rhapsody”
  • Sitting by a bonfire on the beach watching people light Chinese lanterns
  • Going out for lots of lunches, suppers, and happy hours with family and friends
  • Writing future blog posts in my head
  • Watching thunderstorms move in across the lake
  • Looking at clouds so crisp, fluffy, and white, it seemed like you could reach up and pluck one
  • Holding my new granddaughter when she was less than two days old
  • Hanging out at the beach bar or the pier with friends listening to music, music, and more music
  • Sitting quietly with my sister in the mornings on her cabin porch or my patio
  • Watching movies like “Animal House,” “Caddyshack,” and “Young Frankenstein” that never get old
  • Closing my eyes, tilting my face to the sun, and feeling the breeze caress my face

Yes, it was a magnificent summer indeed. Not one day went by without enjoying it to the fullest. No Internet or cell phone needed.

I know summer is winding down, but no matter the season and no matter where you live, there are simple things in life that you can enjoy, if you just give yourself the time to do so. Start seizing the day – today.

Share the strength.

 

 


4 responses to “Carpe Diem

  1. Kate says:

    Amen and Hallelujah!

  2. sugarlows says:

    I just read this post tonight and I loved it! You have always been an inspiration to me and still are! 😀 ❤ Hope you are doing well!

    • theofframp says:

      I’m so glad you liked the post, and I appreciate your kind comments. Thank you so much! It feels good to be writing again. : )

      • sugarlows says:

        You’re welcome! Definitely know what you mean about writing. It helps to just put yourself out there by writing it down. It makes me feel better as well. 🙂

Leave a comment