Sharing the Strength

Learning about life through the lens of cancer

An Open Letter of Thanksgiving

on November 23, 2015

I have so much to give thanks for this holiday. While it’s true November is a time of sad anniversaries for me, it is also an opportunity to openly thank the people who are lifting me up in so many different ways.

There are those who are providing “hands-on” care: an ex-husband who takes me to my medical appointments every week; a dear friend who drives nine hours just to spend 24 hours hanging out with me; the neighbors who will do anything for me on a moment’s notice; and, my faculty colleagues who stop in to see how I’m doing and bring me food.

There are many others who aren’t here in person, because they don’t live close by. Yet their role in assisting me is equally important: my sister and cousins, the strength and love of whom I feel with me every day; the people I grew up with in my hometown of Martinsburg, West Virginia, who are constantly keeping me in prayer; other friends, family, professional colleagues, and alumni who send me notes of support, books, and little surprises that make me smile on a regular basis.

There are even strangers who have gone out of their way to help me, such as the folks at Delta. I hate to fly. I mean, I REALLY hate to fly. It’s to a phobia level. My general rule of thumb is to drive if I can get to where I need to be in the time allotted; however, sometimes I don’t have that luxury of time. Such was the case when I needed to get to Denver for my nephew’s wedding. I bit the bullet and purchased my airline ticket; however, my phobia didn’t turn out to be the main problem. I realized as soon as I got to the airport that, physically, this was going to be a challenge.

Thank you to the woman at the check-in (whose name I believe was Cathy) who zeroed in on this right away and offered me wheelchair assistance for the first flight, my connecting flight and my destination. Thank you to the sky caps who whizzed me through terminals, up and down elevators, and in and out of shuttles. Thank you to the flight attendants who checked on my comfort. Thank you, Delta – you love to fly and it shows!

Finally an especially big thank you to those of you who read this blog. Nothing has made me so fulfilled in the last 20 months than sharing my thoughts with you. If I have touched even one person, I consider that a blessing. When a tragedy strikes, whether it’s a life-threatening illness or something else, you almost always ask “Why?” From the beginning of this blog, I felt like I was supposed to go through cancer in order to write, share, and hopefully lift up others. Every visitor, every comment, every follower, every “like” on Facebook links to posts means more to me than I can say and I thank you from the bottom of my heart.

The list of people I owe thank you notes to is lengthy and dates have long passed (my mother would not approve!). I’m sorry for not being better at minding my etiquette during this second battle with cancer, which has zapped me a bit more than the first. However, please know that I am grateful for all your gestures, big and small, and give thanks for having you in my life.


6 responses to “An Open Letter of Thanksgiving

  1. Kathy seal clark says:

    Love you Ann, U are such an amazing person, I’m sorry I don’t keep in touch but I think of u often. I pray that things will get better for you, you are a strong woman , u are a Reynolds, and I know how tough the Reynolds family are, . I hope you have a blessed Thanksgiving, U hang in there God has this under control. Love you,

    • Cecilia Feaster says:

      You are the strongest woman I have ever met! I truly believe that you are one of God’s Angel’s. He has given you a passion to write, which in return is a blessing to all of us who follow you.

      God Bless,
      Cecilia LPN

      • theofframp says:

        Thank you so much, Cecelia — it’s so nice to hear from you! Dad’s birthday is coming up, so thoughts are with him even more this time of year, although I feel him around me daily. He was the one who encouraged me to write, so I thank him if I have been able to comfort others.

    • theofframp says:

      Hi Kathy — I know your thoughts and prayers are with me so don’t worry if they’re not written down. Yes, we are a tough breed! And I agree with you that God has this under control. I love you and wish you a Blessed Thanksgiving.

  2. Sarah Britton Cote says:

    Yo, I am thankful for a dear friend who loves a sense of adventure, a road trip complete with sharp turns toward the unexpected attraction, food we should know better of, and an unexplained fascination with the quirky and macabre. Happy Thanksgiving! xox, Sarah

Leave a comment