Sharing the Strength

Learning about life through the lens of cancer

The Forest

on September 9, 2014

You may have heard the cliché, “Can’t see the forest for the trees” – a way to express that focusing on details (the trees) can keep you from seeing the bigger picture (the forest).  I’ve told many people that I got through my cancer journey by taking one step at a time.  If I had looked at everything I would have to go through – the radiation, the surgery, the chemo, the recovery – I would have been overwhelmed.  So I focused on the trees.

Now, it’s time to look at that forest.  No matter what kind of journey you are taking and where it has led you (or is leading you), I think it’s important to take some time to reflect on that journey and see how far you’ve come.  To look at my forest, I’m taking a different approach to this post and using pictures to tell the story.

Share the strength.

 

Click on the first photo to start the photo album; advance by clicking on arrow at far right of each photo.  


4 responses to “The Forest

  1. Erin says:

    Ms. Ann,

    This is truly beautiful and inspirational! Bless you and your journey! I needed to see this today. Thanks for posting 🙂 Prayers and positive thoughts from the Stohlman’s 🙂

    • theofframp says:

      Thank you so much, Erin! I’m so glad my posts have been able to touch you; I truly believe that God has guided my hand in writing them. God Bless!

  2. kathleen markham says:

    Thanks for sharing Annie. The forest for the trees cliche is one of my favorites. I can always use a reminder. Your Dad looks awesome!

    • theofframp says:

      Glad you liked it, Kate. I need a reminder from time to time, too! It’s easy to lose perspective when life becomes hectic or challenging.

Leave a comment