Sharing the Strength

Learning about life through the lens of cancer

My Name is Ann, and I’m a Cancer Survivor

on August 20, 2014

In this corner, stage III Soft Tissue Sarcoma, an advanced form of a rare and aggressive cancer found in the thigh.  In the opposite corner, the Westfield Wrangler, known for her tenacity, perseverance and positive attitude.

Howard, this boxing match is a tough one.  Sarcoma has a strong track record of taking down its opponents.  We’ve already seen some dirty fighting in the ring.”

“I can’t disagree, Don.  Sarcoma has delivered quite a few blows, but the Westfield Wrangler keeps picking herself up.  The Wrangler may be inexperienced in fighting this type of opponent, but I think she’s getting the edge.  I’m just telling it like it is.”

“After nine rounds, the Wrangler seems to be gaining momentum, Howard.  Oh, look at that!  It seems she has Sarcoma on the ropes!”

“Down goes Sarcoma.  Down goes Sarcoma.  Down goes Sarcoma!  Ladies and gentleman, the Wrangler has won the bout!”

I, the Wrangler, am happy to announce that, yesterday, I earned the title of – cancer survivor.  A nine-month fight has come to an end.  A CT scan showed “no evidence of disease” – my treatment has been successful and I’ve been declared cancer-free.  I felt like Rocky when I got the news.  I started fist pumping, and happy tears welled up from somewhere deep inside – they’ve probably been in there since the battle began.

I may have been in the ring by myself, but I was never alone.  I owe so much to friends, family, colleagues and even strangers who have supported me in so many different ways.  I can’t express how much that support has meant to me.  Thank you from the bottom of my heart!  Now I start living life by the quarter, with doctor visits and bloodwork scheduled every three months.  Sarcoma is a “front-loaded” cancer so I will be monitored closely, especially for the next two years.  In addition to the quarterly doctor’s visits, I’ll have CT scans twice a year.  I don’t know what the future might hold – Sarcoma may very well want to get back into the ring for a rematch someday.  For now, however, I’m gonna fly – “flying high now, gonna fly, fly, fly!”


13 responses to “My Name is Ann, and I’m a Cancer Survivor

  1. Kate says:

    You go Annie. Fly fly fly…right into the great wide open! We shall celebrate very soon! Luv ya lots, Kate and Bear

  2. Kathy says:

    Couldn’t have better news! Congratulations!!!

  3. sugarlows says:

    So happy for you! All your students were right there behind you and we knew you’d win! You fought cancer with that red pen as if you were grading writing assignments 😉 I am with joy!!! ❤

    • theofframp says:

      Thank you so much, Megan, for all your encouragement. I love the analogy of the red pen!! The support I have received from students, past and present, has been indescribable! Most of all, thank you for YOUR inspiration — this blog wouldn’t be here if not for you.

      • sugarlows says:

        You’re welcome! I am really honored I inspired you to take this writing journey. It really helps opening up! Very therapeutic. I am also glad you love the red pen! I started to like writing again and becoming a stronger writer when I met you, so thank you for that!

  4. Anne Muir says:

    That is the best news. Ever. Can’t wait to see you again! Ride the wave and enjoy every moment! Love you…

    • theofframp says:

      I think I’ll be riding this wave for a while! Can’t wait to see you and celebrate in person. Thank you so much for your unwavering support through this journey. Love you lots!

  5. Joe says:

    To say I`m proud of you is an understatement, but when it comes to you….I`m really not surprised Annie. You are hands down the strongest person I know. You made me shed tears with both sets of news….the bad and the wonderful. Keep on keepin on baby !! Much Love always, Joe
    ps……Ponder Meredith 🙂

    • theofframp says:

      Thank you for your kind words, Joe — I know you were always there cheering from the sidelines and I appreciate that more than you know. You were among the many angels lifting me up during this journey. Glad we can now celebrate!

  6. Sarah says:

    Yo, so happy and so very proud of you. You’ve taught much during this journey.
    Indeed, flying high and as Rocky would say “Yo, Adrienne, we did it!”

    • theofframp says:

      I knew you would appreciate the “Rocky” analogies, Yo, and I love your addition. Yes, “we” did it! I certainly didn’t fight this battle alone. I can’t imagine my surgery, treatments, and recovery going as smoothly as they did without you by my side. Thank you for giving so much of your time, so much of you. I love you, my friend!

Leave a comment