Sharing the Strength

Learning about life through the lens of cancer

Passing Life’s Exams

on February 3, 2015

Did you like tests as a student? I didn’t. Taking an exam was not my strength. Unfortunately, in life we don’t always have a choice on whether to take the tests that pass our way. We only have a choice on whether we’ll pass or fail. Being diagnosed with cancer was certainly a test – one I’m happy to say I did pass. Recently, however, I feel like it’s finals week – tests are lurking around every corner, and most of them are pop quizzes.

My father – my hero – died a couple weeks ago at the age of 102. Less than a week after his funeral, I received word that my half-brother had collapsed and was on life support. He passed away yesterday. These are the times I look up at the heavens and scream, “Really?”

There’s an old saying that God doesn’t give you more than you can handle. I’m not sure I believe that, because I don’t believe God makes bad things happen. I DO, however, believe that He has given us a great study guide that, if followed, will help us pass those tests life throws us. We can choose to use that study guide or go into those tests unprepared.

Life is one big exam and it’s full of multiple choice questions. We are beings of free will and we determine how we will respond to those questions. When bad things happen, we can react in many different ways. For me, I have opted to use God’s study guide of faith and strive to find some sort of silver lining. That’s the only way I know to keep going in less-than-desirable circumstances.

I am so lucky that I had my Dad for as long as I did and that he was in relatively good health. I like to say he had 102 good years and a few bad weeks. Just six weeks before he died, he was able to travel to Washington, D.C., to receive the U.S. Congressional Gold Medal for his work with the Civil Air Patrol during World War II. When he died, I was extremely touched that the local Civil Air Patrol squadron showed their respect by providing an honor guard at his viewing. It was just one of many acts of kindness I witnessed. Our family received so many caring gestures and comforting messages. I got to visit friends who I hadn’t seen since high school. My children flew in to be by my side. Now, in the advent of my brother’s death, I think how fortunate it was that all of the family was together at Dad’s funeral for the first time in quite a while and that, although we had assembled for a sad reason, there was laughter, hugs and love. I am especially grateful that Dad died before my brother did and, thus, didn’t have to suffer the loss of a child.

I’m also thankful for the people who, because they were taking their own multiple choice exam, made decisions that made more of a difference than any of us knew at the time. For example, because of weather conditions and his health, my brother didn’t think he could make our Dad’s funeral; however, a family friend offered to drive him and his family 8 hours so they could attend. Who knew at the time that that kind gesture would mean so much a week later?

When we are faced with life’s exams, we must remember that we do have a choice in how we answer. If we have studied well, we’ll pass, and we might very well help others pass their own exams along the way.


Leave a comment